Just over a month ago, I got my very first essay published online on Yourtango.com. Today, I got to see my name in print for the first time in NY Resident magazine. I had envisioned it so many times in the past six months that it almost seems old news by now, but when I look back a year ago, I was ready to give up on writing because I felt I had nothing valuable to offer. Had I really let myself believe it, I wouldn’t be experiencing the high I am feeling now. As much as I’d like to pat myself on the back for not giving up on my dream, I wouldn’t have been able to do all this without the encouragement of my family, support of my friends and most of all the guidance of my amazing writing mentor, Susan Shapiro. And of course, my dog Indu who’s believed in me even before I did. :)

Lavanya

